MaiTai’s First Haircut – Age 4.5 Years

I still can’t bring myself to throw away the chopped locks yet… 😭

Until recently, MaiTai would say he liked his hair long and wanted to work where I work because he wanted his hair to be as long as mine (he knows TDD only has short hair because his job makes him).

We told him if he ever wanted a trim or cut to just let us know. He usually responded with a pretty emphatic “NO!”

But now it seems he wanted to try something new.

Last week I mentioned how I’ll soon be cutting my hair shorter (although I prefer my hair long) because baby Julep is always ripping it out.

Then MaiTai said he wanted to be bald. He referenced an elderly bald man we know.

“Yeah,  I want my head to look like my forehead!”

“Why?”

He said he was starting to get annoyed by how his neck makes his hair sweaty (thanks, Texas heat!) and he doesn’t like how long hair is harder to maintain — namely, he dislikes our nightly routine of brushing it to prevent tangles.

I explained how it takes hair a long time to grow back, so he should be sure. We decided I’d cut a small piece and see if he liked it. He was sure.

So, first haircut it was. He said he wanted me to cut it this time instead of going to a hair professional. I did warn him that this would be my first go at the haircutting rodeo and the final product would actually be my ‘practice’ round.

I begged him to sit still with the kitchen scissors snipping around his face. TDD helped keep his wiggling to a minimum by entertaining him with a puppet show as I trimmed.

Thankfully he’s happy with the way it feels now.

MaiTai’s final thoughts: “If someone says ‘Hey you cut your hair and I like it ‘ then I’ll say ‘Oh thank you!’ But if someone says ‘You cut your hair and shouldn’t have done that,’  I’ll say ‘Hey, I don’t want to hear that, I like it this way!'”

IMG_20170415_215146
IMG_20170415_215228IMG_20170415_215438

Leave a Reply

